[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Second announcement: Workshop on "Auditory Attention and Scene Analysis"; registration open

Workshop on "Auditory Attention and Scene Analysis" 2014
July 21 - 23 at the Hanse Institute for Advanced Study (HWK) in
Delmenhorst, Germany

Chairs: Adrian KC Lee, Volker Hohmann
Scientific committee: DeLiang Wang, Dan Tollin, Georg Klump

Information on the Web:

*** Registration/application (deadline 7 June 2014) is now open! Please
find the registration form at

As a successor of the workshops held 10 years ago in 2003 at HWK,
Germany, in 2010 at the UCL Gatsby computational neuroscience unit, UK,
and in 2011 again at HWK, Germany, this workshop further promotes and
facilitates interaction between researchers in speech and audio
processing, psychoacoustics and neurophysiology to stimulate joint
efforts towards a better understanding of acoustic information
processing in challenging conditions characterized by noise and
reverberation. We believe that a breakthrough in the understanding of
human Auditory Scene Analysis (ASA) and Computational Auditory Scene
Analysis (CASA) can only be expected by multidisciplinary collaboration.
Interaction of distinguished international speakers and young scientists
is fostered by organizing the meeting in a combined workshop and summer
school format.

Human behavioral studies on Auditory attention / scene analysis
Neurophysiology of auditory attention / scene analysis
Auditory attention and scene analysis as revealed by human cognitive
Computational approaches in auditory scene analysis

Theme 1:
John Middlebrooks (A cortical substrate for high-resolution spatial
stream segregation)
Bernard Laback (Spatial cues and perceptual grouping in electric hearing)
Dan Tollin (title tba)
Theme 2:
Maneesh Sahani (title tba)
Jennifer Bizley (title tba)
Theme 3:
Alexandra Bendixen (EEG-based measures of auditory scene analysis)
Mareike Finke/Andreas Büchner/ (Processing of unexpected auditory
stimuli in cochlear implant users measured by event-related potentials)
Edmund Lalor (title tba)
Theme 4:
Steve Colburn (Computational modelling of the spatial dependence on
masker locations for speech intelligibility with various types of maskers)
Sue Denham (Computational insights from studies of multistability in
auditory perception)
Jörg Lücke (Inference and learning for sensory data with non-linear
features - new models for masking and occlusion)
Zhiyao Duan (Computational Music Audio Scene Analysis)

The workshop is funded by the coordinated research project "The active
auditory system" (SFB/TRR31), the centre for hearing research
Oldenburg/Hanover and HWK

Workshop fees:
Regular participants:
400€ with accommodation
200€ without accommodation

PhD and Master students:
300€ with accommodation
150€ without accommodation

The registration fee covers the cost for a hotel room (3 nights, if
applicable) all meals, and the course material.

Stipends for Master students:
For up to three Master students a stipend for waving the registration
fee can be provided. Applicants for a stipend must describe their
current research (1-2 pages) and future career plans and submit this
statement together with the registration form. Applicants will receive a
notification of acceptance from the organizers within three weeks after
receiving the application.

Application for poster or short oral presentation:
10-12 short 5-min. oral presentations and about 20 posters can be
presented at the workshop. If you plan to present a poster or give a
short 5-min. presentation, please indicate this on the registration form
and add an abstract (not longer than 250 words excluding title, authors
and affiliations). You will receive a notification of acceptance from
the organizers within three weeks after receiving the application. PhD
students are encouraged to apply for a poster presentation (special
“summer school” poster session).

Please download the registration form from the workshop website and send
filled and signed forms to Marion Daniel at the
Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg by Email (mdaniel@xxxxxxxx). You will then
receive a form from the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg by Email with further
instructions regarding transfer of conference fees and hotel
reservations. The deadline for registration is 7 June 2014.

Registration/Application form is available at the workshop website

Volker Hohmann (volker.hohmann@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)
Adrian KC Lee (akclee@xxxxxx)

Prof. Dr. Volker Hohmann
Department für Medizinische Physik und Akustik
Fakultät VI
Universität Oldenburg
26111 Oldenburg, Germany
Tel. (+49) 441 798 5468
FAX  (+49) 441 798 3902
Email: volker.hohmann@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
WWW: http://medi.uni-oldenburg.de
Public Key and Key Fingerprint:
C75A 8A8D 9408 28EE FCFD 20CA 1D9F 23CC BAD2 B967