[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

BKN25: Milestones in Music Cognition


A Quarter-Century Celebration of Books by Bregman, Krumhansl and Narmour (BKN25)

 In 1990, three major books by Albert Bregman, Carol Lynne Krumhansl and Eugene Narmour were published that were to become transformative pillars in the field of music cognition research and beyond.

In anticipation of the 25th anniversary of these influential tomes, a two-day symposium will be held at the Schulich School of Music, McGill University in Montreal July 7-8, 2014.

The symposium is now open for registration and poster submission at http://www.music.mcgill.ca/bkn25/. Once you register a confirmation email will be sent and you need to click on the URL to confirm your registration to avoid problems.

Early registration rates  (up to April 30, 2014) are $100 regular, $50 for registered students, and free for students whose posters are accepted. Late registration is $150 regular and $100 for students.

The symposium will be composed of opening and closing keynote addresses, three sessions with invited speakers reflecting upon the impact of the honorees' work on the fields of music psychology, music theory, cognitive neuroscience and engineering, and a contributed poster session. Musical interludes will be provided by the students and faculty of the Schulich School of Music.

Participants who wish to present their own work in the poster session may submit abstracts to the email address (bkn25@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) by March 15, 2014. The posters should present current research that relates in a direct way to the work of one or more of the honorees. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. A selection committee will examine the submissions and authors will be informed of the outcome by April 15, 2014.

A special issue of Music Perception to honor these three books will be organized by guest editors David Temperley, Alexander Rozin and Stephen McAdams, targeting the June 2015 issue. See the website for details.

We hope the music cognition community will join us in celebrating our colleagues both at the symposium and through their submissions to the special issue.

The organizing committee:

Lola Cuddy, Queen's University

Stephen McAdams, McGill University

Alexander Rozin, West Chester University of Pennsylvania

David Temperley, University of Rochester