Reminder: Workshop on "Auditory Attention and Scene Analysis"; deadline June 12th (Volker Hohmann )

Subject: Reminder: Workshop on "Auditory Attention and Scene Analysis"; deadline June 12th
From:    Volker Hohmann  <volker.hohmann@xxxxxxxx>
Date:    Fri, 6 Jun 2014 09:08:02 +0200

Workshop on "Auditory Attention and Scene Analysis" 2014 July 21 - 23 at the Hanse Institute for Advanced Study (HWK) in Delmenhorst, Germany Chairs: Adrian KC Lee, Volker Hohmann Scientific committee: DeLiang Wang, Dan Tollin, Georg Klump Information on the Web: *** Registration/application (deadline 12 June 2014) is open! Please find the registration form at Objectives: As a successor of the workshops held 10 years ago in 2003 at HWK, Germany, in 2010 at the UCL Gatsby computational neuroscience unit, UK, and in 2011 again at HWK, Germany, this workshop further promotes and facilitates interaction between researchers in speech and audio processing, psychoacoustics and neurophysiology to stimulate joint efforts towards a better understanding of acoustic information processing in challenging conditions characterized by noise and reverberation. We believe that a breakthrough in the understanding of human Auditory Scene Analysis (ASA) and Computational Auditory Scene Analysis (CASA) can only be expected by multidisciplinary collaboration. Interaction of distinguished international speakers and young scientists is fostered by organizing the meeting in a combined workshop and summer school format. Themes: Human behavioral studies on Auditory attention / scene analysis Neurophysiology of auditory attention / scene analysis Auditory attention and scene analysis as revealed by human cognitive neuroscience Computational approaches in auditory scene analysis Speakers: Theme 1: John Middlebrooks (A cortical substrate for high-resolution spatial stream segregation) Bernard Laback (Spatial cues and perceptual grouping in electric hearing) Dan Tollin (title tba) Theme 2: Maneesh Sahani (title tba) Jennifer Bizley (The role of auditory-visual temporal coherence in stream segregation) Theme 3: Alexandra Bendixen (EEG-based measures of auditory scene analysis) Mareike Finke/Andreas Büchner/ (Processing of unexpected auditory stimuli in cochlear implant users measured by event-related potentials) Edmund Lalor (Decoding attentional selection in multi-speaker environments using EEG) Theme 4: Steve Colburn (Computational modelling of the spatial dependence on masker locations for speech intelligibility with various types of maskers) Sue Denham (Computational insights from studies of multistability in auditory perception) Jörg Lücke (Inference and learning for sensory data with non-linear features - new models for masking and occlusion) Zhiyao Duan (Computational Music Audio Scene Analysis) Tjeerd Andringa (invited short impulse talk) The workshop is funded by the coordinated research project "The active auditory system" (SFB/TRR31), the centre for hearing research Oldenburg/Hanover and HWK Workshop fees: Regular participants: 400€ with accommodation 200€ without accommodation PhD and Master students: 300€ with accommodation 150€ without accommodation The registration fee covers the cost for a hotel room (3 nights, if applicable) all meals, and the course material. Stipends for Master students: For up to three Master students a stipend for waving the registration fee can be provided. Applicants for a stipend must describe their current research (1-2 pages) and future career plans and submit this statement together with the registration form. Applicants will receive a notification of acceptance from the organizers within three weeks after receiving the application. Application for poster or short oral presentation: 10-12 short 5-min. oral presentations and about 20 posters can be presented at the workshop. If you plan to present a poster or give a short 5-min. presentation, please indicate this on the registration form and add an abstract (not longer than 250 words excluding title, authors and affiliations). You will receive a notification of acceptance from the organizers within three weeks after receiving the application. PhD students are encouraged to apply for a poster presentation (special “summer school” poster session). Registration: Please download the registration form from the workshop website and send filled and signed forms to Marion Daniel at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg by Email (mdaniel@xxxxxxxx). You will then receive a form from the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg by Email with further instructions regarding transfer of conference fees and hotel reservations. The deadline for registration is 12 June 2014. Downloads: Registration/Application form is available at the workshop website Contact: Volker Hohmann (volker.hohmann@xxxxxxxx) Adrian KC Lee (akclee@xxxxxxxx) -- --------------------------------------------------------- Prof. Dr. Volker Hohmann Medizinische Physik and Cluster of Excellence Hearing4all Universität Oldenburg D-26111 Oldenburg Germany Tel. +49 441 798 5468 FAX +49 441 798 3902 Email volker.hohmann@xxxxxxxx Public Key and Key Fingerprint C75A 8A8D 9408 28EE FCFD 20CA 1D9F 23CC BAD2 B967 ---------------------------------------------------------

This message came from the mail archive
maintained by:
DAn Ellis <>
Electrical Engineering Dept., Columbia University